Password instructions will be e-mailed to you
Confirmation will be e-mailed to you
Lost Password
Register
Dismiss
Dismiss

bounce rate

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  elizamunn 8 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

Maria Lamb
    Participant

My bounce rate is terrible — 70%.  Any suggestions to lower it?

alan egan
    Keymaster

Try to identify which pages / posts have the highest bounce rate, look for a pattern.

Are you using a related posts plugin? If not, adding a plugin will help.

Add a big ‘Read More articles like this” button that leads people to your local guide

13 Ways to Reduce Bounce Rate and Increase Your Conversions

elizamunn
    Participant

I don’t understand bounce rate but could this possibly be because a lot of people share Maria’s page online as a good example? So a lot of people are quickly visiting but not staying long? Just wondering because I’m new to a lot of this terminology.

Maria Lamb
    Participant

I made some changes to ‘experiment’.  For now, I hid those beautiful sliders and moved the featured properties up top, just under the menu (If anyone knows a way to move the sliders, that would be ideal).  Then I cleaned up some of the wordiness on the home page.  Already today I’ve had a lot more clicks on properties so maybe that will help.

The way I originally had it, if you were looking at it on a phone (and like 90% of my traffic is from phones), you have to scroll down past slider 1, slider 2, slider 3, slider 4, then you would get a box (our accommodations), but if you missed that, you had to scroll down past another dozen things before reaching featured properties.

I certainly don’t like the way it looks on a computer without the slider, but I think this may end up being better for mobile.

elizamunn
    Participant